25 July in the Hist...
Clear all

Welcome to Psychology Roots Community. We glad to see you here.

25 July in the History of Psychology


Famed Member Admin
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 1733
Topic starter  

On July 25:

1799 — Victor, the "Wild Boy of Aveyron," was captured in France. Victor was studied by Jean Itard, the chief medical officer of the Institute for Deaf and Dumb in Paris, and a pioneer in special education.

1871 — Margaret Floy Washburn, an animal psychologist, was born. Washburn's PhD in psychology at Cornell University in 1894 was the first awarded to a woman by an American university. She was the second woman elected to the National Academy of Sciences (1931). APA President, 1921.

1904 — Ernest Ropiequet Hilgard was born. Hilgard's career was marked by distinguished work across the entire range of modern psychology. Learning, hypnosis, child development, teaching of psychology, consciousness, and the history of psychology have been special focuses. APA President, 1949; APA Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, 1967.

1924 — Nicholas Cummings was born. Cummings has been an advocate for the independent professional status of psychologists and has reshaped professional training in psychology. He was a founder of the California School of Professional Psychology (1968). APA President, 1979; President, American Psychological Foundation, 1984; APA Award for Distinguished Professional Contributions, 1984.

1973 — The APA Conference on Patterns and Levels of Professional Training began in Vail, Colorado. The Vail Conference was the first to strongly endorse the professional model of graduate training and the PsyD degree.

1974 — The first edition of the APA's book Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms was published. Robert G. Kinkade edited this reference work.

1979 — The APA received its first peer review case from the Civilian Health and Medical Program of the Uniformed Services (CHAMPUS), beginning a 6-month trial period. In all, 45 cases were reviewed during this period. Bill Claiborn was the original director of the APA/CHAMPUS project.

1989 — A copy of the American Psychologist special edition devoted entirely to children was presented to President George Bush. APA officers Joseph Matarazzo, Raymond Fowler, and Frances Horowitz, and Senator Nancy Kassebaum made the presentation.

1989 — President George Bush declared the 1990s the "Decade of the Brain," calling attention to the progress made in understanding, preventing, and treating brain-related disorders and to the breakthroughs that can be achieved through neuroscience research.